Southeastern Piano Festival

Female Pianist

Each summer the Southeastern Piano Festival transforms the University of South Carolina School of Music and Columbia into a major cultural destination that draws in audiences and young piano talent from across the United States. The Southeastern Piano Festival embraces a multi-faceted personality: it is a high-level training platform for the young pianists, a presenter of new and world-renowned concert pianists and master teachers, an advocate for new piano music, and a vehicle for exploring different roles the piano plays on stage and beyond.

Twenty of some of the best pre-college pianists on the piano scene today take part in a rigorous program that includes daily lessons with USC piano faculty, master classes with guest artists and up to five hours of practice a day. The week's events culminate with the Arthur Fraser International Piano Competition, adjudicated by a distinguished panel of judges. Winners of the competition receive cash awards and the opportunity to perform with the South Carolina Philharmonic. For music lovers, the Festival offers nightly concerts by a rich lineup of world-class pianists.

The Southeastern Piano Festival presents a perfect symbiosis of the new generation of pianists in search of inspiration and challenge and the world-class guest artists who provide that inspiration. The attraction of the Festival lies in its versatility: be one a budding piano virtuoso, an educator, or a music aficionado, the Festival offers something for everyone who loves piano.

Arthur Fraser International Piano Competition 2021 Winners Announced

The 2021 Arthur Fraser International Piano Competition was a thrilling day of outstanding performances. The Southeastern Piano Festival participants performed live at the University of South Carolina’s School of Music Recital Hall to a socially distanced audience as well as to thousands of viewers around the world via livestream.

First Prize: Solomon Ge

Second Prize: Nathaniel Zhang

Third Prize: Andrew Gu

Young Jury Award: Solomon Ge

Best Solo Work: Solomon Ge and Andrew Gu

Best Work Written Since 1990: Katherine Liu

Discretionary Award: Malvyn Lai

Discretionary Award: Andrew Shi

Discretionary Award: Adrian Zaragoza